7 APC gov aspirants battle to succeed Oshiomhole in Edo Gubernatorial Election 2016

BENIN—AHEAD of the 2016 governorship election in Edo State, there are indications that Mr Godwin Obaseki, the chairman of the economic team of Edo State government may have joined the race for the 2016 governorship election on the platform of All Progressives Congress, APC.

His entrance in the race will take the number of APC aspirants to seven, five from Edo South senatorial district and two from Edo Central.

Those in the race to succeed Governor Adams Oshiomhole on the platform of  APC  include the incumbent Deputy Governor, Dr Pius Odubu,  Commissioner for Works, Osarodion Ogie, former Minister of State (Works), Dr Chris Ogienwonyi.

Others are former governor of the state, Professor Osarhiemen Osunbor, Mr Kenneth Imasuagbon and General Charles Airhiavbere, (retd).

Obaseki was appointed as Chairman of the Economic Team of the state government by Governor Oshiomhole, when he assumed office in 2009.

Obaseki is not a known politician in the state, but it was learned that he is being backed by the popular business mogul, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, who is a close friend of Oshiomhole.

Oshiomhole had in May warned the governorship aspirants in the APC to suspend campaigns in order not to disrupt his developmental projects.

But Vanguard gathered that the governor may soon lift the ‘curfew’ to allow the aspirants commence political activities ahead of the primaries which is expected to hold in March 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.