Nigeria News

APRM: Nnamani Chairs 20-man Nigeria’s Second Peer Review C’ttee

 The former Senate President, Ken Nnamani has been appointed Chairman of the National Steering Committee on Nigeria Second Peer Review, with a charge to appraise the level of progress made by Nigeria in addressing any observed gaps in the four thematic areas of the African Pear Review Mechanism (APRM).

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Anyim Pius Anyim, who inaugurated the Committee, Friday, listed these thematic areas to include democracy and political governance, economic governance and management, corporate governance and socio-economic development.

Anyim noted that Nigeria was commended as a pace setter in several areas in Africa, during the last APRM, which was conducted in 2008, such as the institutionalisation of the Federal Character Principle in the constitution; the National Council of State; the National Youth Service Corps and the Technical Aid Corps. He, however, clarified that the maiden APRM identified some governance gaps, which have not been addressed, especially in the area of Electoral and Public Service Reforms, Constitutional amendments and affirmative action on women.

He charged the committee to look into those identified as well as the achievements as reflected in the two progressive reports on the implementation of the National Programme of Action (NPoA), which have been accepted by the continental body.

He said that the review would equally touch on emerging issues and challenges to governance and socio-economic development in Nigeria.

"It will also discuss the way forward to be supported by a Road Map and cost NPoA to facilitate the attainment of improved livelihood and standard of living for our citizens," he said.

The SGF further urged members of the committee to make the report very inclusive of reaching out to all shades of opinion in Nigeria, regardless of ethnic religious or political affiliation.

"The purpose is to incorporate all opinions which are crucial to formulating policies and programmes that will facilitate the achievements of our transformation agenda. I am optimistic that you will work assiduously towards this goal," he noted.

Responding, Nnamadi thanked the Federal Government on behalf of the members of the committee for finding them worthy to serve the country, promising to develop new standards for other African nations to follow.

He said the primary purpose of APRM is to foster the adoption of appropriate laws, policies, standards and practices that lead to political stability, high economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration.

He said: "This is done through sharing of sharing of experiences and reinforcement of successful and best practices, including identifying deficits and assessing the needs for capacity building by our African brothers.

"Nigeria is not only one of the pioneering countries but played a leading role in the process of giving a practical form to the mechanism, and the core documents of the APRM were signed in Abuja in 2003."

He further noted that from 10 countries that subscribed to its mandate in 2003, 33 countries have subscribed to the APRM mandate.

It would be recalled that  African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) is a voluntary mechanism, which was acceded to the APRM process in March 2003 by 10 countries including Nigeria. However, the country was only Peer Reviewed at the first forum in Continuo, Benin Republic in 2008.

Other members are Mr. D. I. Kifasi, Perm Sec. Ministry of Finance, Mike Omeri, DG National Orientation Agency, Salisu Maikasuwa, Clerk to the National Assembly, Prof. Ben Angwe, Executive Secretary, National Human Rights Commission, Yemi Kale, DG, National Bureau of Statistics, John Isemede, DG, National Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industries, Mines and Agriculture, Danladi Halilu, Executive Secretary, National Judicial Council, Ntufam Fidelis Ugbo,  Executive Secretary, National Planning Commission and Okey Wali, President Nigeria Bar Association.

Others are; Mrs. Nkechi Okemini, President, National Council of Women Societies, Robert Itawa, NEPAD Business Group, Dr. Ibrahim Jibo, Center for Democracy and Development, Goddie Ibru, Chairman NEPAD Business Group, Abdulwaheed Omar, President Nigeria Labour Congress, Mohammed Abubakar, Director Special Duties, office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Dr. S. A. Faseyi, Director Governance, NEPAD, President, Nigeria Network of NGOs, James Idakwo, Deputy Director NEPAD and Princess Francesca Frank-Chukwuani,  office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.