Nigeria News

INEC hammers three more political parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission has deregistered three more political parties, making it 31 parties that have so far received the commission’s sledge hammer within two weeks.

The affected political parties are the African Renaissance Party, National Democratic Party and National Transformation Party.

A statement issued on Friday night in Abuja by INEC’s Secretary, Alhaji Abdullahi Kaugama, said the action was “in continuation of the exercise of the powers conferred on it by the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended).”

He said the composition of the National Executive Committees of ARP, NDP and NTP failed to meet the requirements of Section 223(1) and (2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as Amended).

Kaugama said there was no verifiable headquarters of the three parties contrary to Section 222(f) of the 1999 Constitution, adding that the parties “have not won a seat in the national and state assemblies.”

He said, “The commission reiterates its commitment to relating with all registered political parties as specified by the extant laws of the land.”

The INEC chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, had justified the earlier deregistration of 28 political parties, saying the action was based on the fact that the affected parties did not meet the requirement of the law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.