Nigeria News

Ministerial List: No forward movement till July 21at the earliest

BuhariFollowing the crisis that erupted in the National Assembly over the election of Principal Office Holders which triggered the adjournment of both Houses of Assembly to July 21, serious questions are being asked as to the readiness of the President Muhammadu Buhari led All Progressives Congress, APC, for the serious business of governance.

President Buhari who many have accused of being directionless might have run the most populous black nation in the world without Ministers until July 21 at the earliest because it is only the Senate that has been empowered to screen and approve nominated Ministers by the President.

Section 147 and 192 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria empower the Senate and the State Houses of Assembly respectively, to screen any person recommended for appointment as a Minister or Commissioner by the President or Governor respectively, for confirmation before appointments are made.

The screening is customarily a question and answer session between the nominees and the Senators to determine their eligibility or otherwise.

Nominees who do not meet the expectations of majority of the Senators are usually dropped at this stage.

With the adjournment of proceedings of the newly inaugurated 8th Assembly once again several Nigerians are inquiring as to when the Government will “hit the ground running” just as was promised during several campaigns.

Almost a month into President Buhari’s inauguration he has not submitted his list of Ministers to the Senate for confirmation and had not made major appointments.

Post Nigeria had earlier reported that the Chairman of the Inter-Party Advisory Council, IPAC, Dr. Yunusa Tanko stated that President Muhammadu Buhari and his party, the APC, were delaying the appointment of Ministers and other individuals into key positions to satisfy the interests of the four parties which merged to form the APC.

The merger involves the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Congress for Progressive Change, CPC, All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP, and the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.