Nigeria News

APC wins 13 states, PDP 4 in governorship polls

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has recorded a mass victory in the recently concluded governorship elections as it won in 13 states out of the 17 for which official results have been announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The former ruling party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has however only won four states so far.

The first winner to be announced victorious was Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun of the APC who will now proceed on his second term in office.  

The next in line was Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi also of the APC who became the first governor of the state to win a second term in office.

Other APC winners are Lagos State Governor-elect, Akinwunmi Ambode who won 811,994 votes to beat Jimi Agbaje of the PDP, who won 659,788 votes; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal who emerged winner in Sokoto State; former House Speaker, Aminu Masari who won in Katsina and former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nasir El-Rufai who beat Kaduna State Governor, Mukhtar Yero of the PDP by about 1 million votes.

APC governorship candidate, Abdulfatai Ahmed won in Kwara, Abdullahi Ganduje in Kano, Atiku Bagudu in Kebbi, Mohammed Abubakar in Bauchi, Ibrahim Geidam in Yobe, Jibrilla Bindow in Adamawa and Samuel Ortom in Benue.

The PDP on the other hand has won the elections in Akwa Ibom, Gombe, Ebonyi and Enugu states.

The elections held in Imo State have been declared inconclusive while results from others are still being collated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.