Nigeria News

Eight PDP Legislators Decamp to Other Parties

 Barely a day after the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost two of its members as a result of defection, more in the House of Representatives yesterday left the party for other parties.

Eight legislators who were hitherto in the ruling party cross-carpeted
to various parties.

They include: Hon. Abdulmalik Cheche (Niger), who was alleged to have attempted to slap the Senate President, David Mark.

He left the PDP for the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are Hon. Wilson Nathaniel (Adamawa), PDP to SDP; Hon. Madueke Anthony, PDP to PDM; Hon. Benjamin Aboho (Benue) PDP to APGA; Hon. Zakari Ibrahim PDP to APC; Hon. Chukwuemeka Nwogbo PDP to APGA; Hon. Garba Umar (Kebbi) PDP to APC and Hon. Ibrahim Kamba (Kebbi) PDP to APC

The House Deputy Chairman on Media and Public Affairs, Hon. Victor Ogene (Anambra) and Hon. Forte Dike (Anambra) also left the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for the APC.

Ogene told journalists that defection figures were not made available to his office.

“My office does not keep record of defections. The Clerk’s office is responsible. It has up to date records of where the parties stand.

The gale of defections started a year before the last when 37 legislators left the PDP for APC.

Afterwards, there was an occasional swings in the movements until the Speaker, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, followed suit in December last year. He left the PDP for APC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.