Mark: I’ll Pursue State Creation with My Last Breath

0 0
Read Time:2 Minute, 0 Second

More than a year after the Senate Committee on Constitution Review dropped the idea of state creation, Senate President, David Mark, yesterday vowed to re-open the move even if it would cost him the last drop of his blood.

According to a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Paul Mumeh, Mark made this vow when four members of the House of Representatives and chairmen of nine local councils from his Benue South senatorial district visited him in Abuja yesterday.
 The statement quoted Mark as saying “even if it takes my last breath, I want to pursue the creation of state. I will put in my last breath to ensure the creation of Apa State for my people.”

The statement further quoted Mark as saying that the agitation for state creation “is the legitimate demand of the agitators” adding that the desire of most Nigerians is that new states be created “to correct some imbalances and give every Nigerian a sense of belonging in the system.”

The statement also claimed that the delegation told Mark that the visit followed immense pressure from residents and opinion leaders from Benue South senatorial district, urging Mark to seek election into the Senate for the fifth time in 2015.

It also claimed that leader of the delegation and Chairman of Ogbadibo Local Government Area of the state, Sunday Adah Ojo, told Mark that the people of Idoma had no better candidate than him, adding that chairmen of nine local government areas from the district had endorsed his return to the Senate next year.

“We are here to deliver the message from the Idoma elders, women, youths and opinion leaders to you that whether you like it or not, you must stand for another term as a senator representing Benue South in the National Assembly,” the statement quoted Ojo as saying.

According to the statement, Mark, in his response, said: “I am a loyal, faithful and dedicated party man, I will only make my intention  known when the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) releases the guidelines and  programme for the elections.”

Council chairmen in the delegation, according to Mumeh, were Dr. Innocent Onuh, Dutse Stephen, Mark Sunday, Julie Obeta, Bright Ogbaji, Owoicho Oyih, and Odeh Michael while members of House of Representatives included Samson Okwu, Ezeikel Adaji, Adamu Entonu and Hassan Saleh.

0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.