Nasarawa Speaker Leads Five Other Lawmakers to Meet with Jonathan

0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 48 Second

The Speaker of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Alhaji Musa Ahmed, yesterday led five other lawmakers to a close door meeting with President Goodluck Jonathan at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)-dominated  assembly had instituted an impeachment move against the state Governor, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, who they accused of gross misconduct.

The Speaker also directed that a seven-man panel be constituted to investigate the governor, a development the state government said it was ready to face as0long as it is within the purview of the law and constitutional.

National Deputy Chairman of the PDP South, Chief Uche Secondus, was in company of the aggrieved lawmakers in the meeting with Jonathan that lasted two hours.

At the end of the meeting, Secondus told State House correspondents  that it was a private meeting.

Asked what informed the meeting,  Speaker of the House, Mohammed said “it is was private visit.”

When he was further pressed to clarify if it had to do with the impeachment move against Al-Makura, the Speaker noted: “I don’t have the mandate of the assembly to speak to the press.”

He, however, told journalists that the Chairman, House Committee on Information was the right person to comment on the impeachment.

However, Secondus who later emerged from the president’s office, said “we are consulting.”

The meeting between the lawmakers came barely 24 hours after the state assembly asked the state Chief Judge, Justice Suleiman Dikko, to constitute a seven-man panel to investigate allegations of “gross misconduct” levelled against Al-Makura.

The decision was sequel to a motion moved by majority leader of the assembly, Mr. Godiya Akwashiki (PDP- Udege/Loko), on the floor of the assembly seeking the setting up of the probe panel in line with the provision of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The motion was seconded by Mr. Mohammed Baba-Ibaku (PDP- Nasarawa Eggon West), the Speaker, Ahmed put the motion to vote.

Twenty of the 24 members voted in favour, while the All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers voted against the motion.

0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.