Nigeria News


 Time was, when it was the dream of many a woman to own an old-fashioned house with an old-fashioned fence and an old-fashioned millionaire for a husband; it is a long way from that era now. The contemporary woman while not disinclined towards such coziness craves greater excitement and challenge in pursuit of similar dream. One such woman is Hon. Lola Fibisola-Akande; the Deputy Majority Leader of Lagos State House of Assembly and the immediate elder sister to Senator Oluremi Tinubu who has dreams of joining her sister in the National Assembly come 2015.

The two term member of Lagos House of Assembly yearns to be a member of the House of Representatives representing the Ikeja Federal Constituency, which is presently occupied by Hon. James Abiodun Faleke, the former Chairman of Ojodu Local Council Development Authority (LCDA). Although she is yet to make a public declaration of her intention, she started holding meetings with her supporters and campaign team. One of such meetings was held recently at the Prestige Lounge/Restaurant on the same street with Femi Anikulapo-Kuti’s Afrikan Shrine, Agidingbi, Ikeja, Lagos.

At the hotel which is owned by her elder sister,  Bimpe Ishola, Hon. Lola informed her teeming supporters and friends of her intention to vie for Ikeja Federal Constituency. Her ambition will no doubt cause conflict between her and Hon. James Abiodun Faleke who, we gathered, is interested in second term. She will also have to do battle with intimidating public perception that condemns the seeming apportioning of the wealth and public offices of Lagos State to family members, business associates and cronies of the Tinubu family. But whatever, the breadth of antagonism against her, even Hon. Lola’s critics will agree that she has carved an enviable niche for herself in the political arena of Lagos. She was once a secretary for defunct Social Democratic Party (SDP) in Ikeja Local Government in the moribund Third Republic.

She was also a member of the United Nigeria Congress Party (UNCP), Alliance for Democracy (AD) which later metamorphosed to Action Congress,  Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and currently All Progressives Congress (APC). She became a member of Lagos House of Assembly in 2007, where she was elected the Deputy Chief Whip. She was re-elected a member of the assembly in 2011 and later elected Deputy Majority Leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.