Nigeria News

NIGERIA: Uduaghan Bags NAWOJ Award

In recognition of his development strides in providing critical infrastructure, Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta State has been honoured as Governor of the Year 2013 by the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ).
A statement signed by Dupe Olaoye-Osinkolu, the Chairman, and Uchechukwu Akinobi, Secretary of NAWOJ, Lagos State chapter, said the award was for Uduaghan’s outstanding accomplishment in tackling the multi-faceted problems of development in the state as well as his commitment to alleviating the plight of the ordinary people.
“After a painstaking and critical appraisal of all the state governors and the impact of their programmes on the citizenry, we are happy to inform the general public that Governor Uduaghan has been selected as NAWOJ Governor of the Year.”
The association praised Uduaghan for the infrastructural development in the state and the diversification of the state’s economy through the Delta Beyond Oil initiative.
It also identified the health system, transportation, scholarship scheme for students, micro- credit scheme that have affected the lives of people in the state, youth empowerment scheme and public viewing centres as areas that set the governor apart as a leader of vision.
“His accomplishments since he came to power have given succour to the ordinary people and hope to millions.” the statement said.
The award ceremony is scheduled for May 15 at Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Ikeja ahead of NAWOJ’s delegates’ conference that begins the following day.
This is the latest in the series of recognitions and awards for Uduaghan, especially from media practitioners and publishing houses in all parts of the country and beyond.
Similar awards commending his efforts to develop the non-oil sector of the state’s economy had come from the Sun Group of newspapers, Leadership, Vanguard, Nigerian Pilot and Metro Eireann, Republic of Ireland’s leading and only multicultural newspaper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *