Nigeria News

Anambra state: Obiano appoints new commissioners and special advisers

ObianoGovernor Willie Obiano’s list of 19 new Commissioners and 10 Special Advisers sent to the Anambra state House of Assembly was yesterday approved by the House.

In the list were two Commissioners who served in the immediate past Governor Peter Obi’s administration. They are Arch. Callistus Ilozumba (Works) and Barr. Mrs. Lilian Azuka Enemuo (Local Government) who were retained in their respective Ministries.

Former Special Advisers in Obi’s government retained included, Barr. Alex Ejesieme (Legal council/ Litigation), Barr. Mrs. Anthonia Tabansi-Okoye (Special Duties) and Mrs. Vivian Nwandu (Millennium Development Goals, MDGs).

Those who were newly appointed Commissioners and their respective portfolios as read out on the floor of the State Assembly by the Speaker, Princess Chinwe Nwaebili and were unanimously approved by the lawmakers were, Anali Chude (Attorney General/ Commissioner for Justice), Mr. Lawrence Chinwuba (Housing), Greg Obi (Finance), Professor Solomon Chukwu (Economic Planning/ Budget).
Others are Ifeatu Onyejeme (Trade and Commerce), Dr. Vicky Chukwuelu (Women Affairs), Dr. Chinedu Emeka (Public Utilities/ Water Resources), Anthony Umerah Onyima (Information), Chukwuma Mbonu (Transport), Evarestus Ubah (Environment), Stella Onuorah (Lands, Survey and Urban Development), Professor Kate Omenugha (Education), Mr. Tony Nnachetam (Youths and Sports), Nobert Obi (Special Duties).
As well as Dr Josphat Akabuike (Health), Mr. Nnamdi Mekoh (Agriculture) and Obi Nwankwo (Science and Technology).

The newly appointed Special Advisers and their respective positions, however, included, the Commissioner for Information and Culture under the former Governor Obi administration who was incidentally the Director- General of the Chief Willie Obiano Campaign Organization, Chief Joe-Martins Uzodike (now Special Adviser on Political Matters), Barr. I.O. Udemba (Chieftaincy and Town Union Matters).
Others are Arch Amaechi Okwume (Urban Development and Town Planning), Mrs. Amaka Ilobi (Public Utilities), Mrs. Ngozi Okonkwo (Internally Generated Revenue, IGR), Chief Chikodi Anara (Security) and Dr. Onyeka Chikwuibezim (Youth Empowerment).

Earlier, about 24 hours after he was sworn in as Governor, Chief Obiano had appointed three principal officers to kick-start his administration and retained the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr. Oseloka Obaze. He also later appointed, James Eze and Emeka Ozumba as his Senior Special Adviser on Media and Special Adviser on Media respectively.

Anthony-Claret Onwutalobi
Anthony-Claret Onwutalobi
Anthony-Claret is a software Engineer, entrepreneur and the founder of Codewit INC and CEO of Portia Web Solutions. Mr. Claret publishes and manages the content on Codewit Word News website and associated websites. He's a writer, IT Expert, great administrator, technology enthusiast, social media lover and all around digital guy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.