Nigeria News

NIGERIA: Jonathan Approves 25 Appeal Court Justices

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the appointment of 25 justices for the Court of Appeal.
A statement signed by the acting Director, Information, National Judicial Council (NJC), Mr. Soji Oye, said the appointment followed the recommendation of the council under the leadership of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Mariam Mukhtar.
The appointment is in line with the new Court of Appeal (Amendment) Act which increased the number of justices of the court from 70 to 90 and the vacancies which were occasioned by the demise, retirement and elevation of some justices of the court to the Supreme Court.
The justices would be sworn in by the CJN on March 24 at 12 noon at the Supreme Court. 
The new appeal court justices are as follows: Justices Hamma Akawu Barka (Gombe), Joseph Jude Jella (Taraba), Bitrus G. Sanga (Bauchi), Muhammed Mustapha (Borno),Yargata Nimpar (Gombe), Sa’idu Tanko Hussein (Kogi), Mudashiru N. Oniyangi (Kwara) and Amina Audi Wambai  (Niger).
Others are Justices Ridwan Maiwada Abdullahi (Nasarawa), Tani Y. Hassan (Kano), Muhammed Lawal Shuaibu  (Jigawa), Kadi Musa Hassan Alkali (Kaduna), Jamilu Y. Tukur (Katsina), Paul Obi Elechi (Ebonyi), Ugochukwu A. Ogakwu (Enugu), Nonyerem Okoronkwo (Imo), Joseph E. Ekanem (Akwa Ibom), F.E. Oho (Delta), Abimbola O.O. Adejumo (Edo).
Justices Bolokuromo M. Ugo (Bayelsa State), Biobele A. Georgewill  (Rivers ), 22 . Oludotun A. Adefope-Okojie (Ogun), Misitura O. Bolaji-Yusuf   (Oyo), J.O.K.Oyewole (Osun) and O.E. Williams-Dawudu  (Lagos) also made the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.