Nigeria News

‘More PDP Senators, Reps Members Will Defect to APC by January 2014’

There are indications that members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Senate and House of Representatives are set to defect to All Progressives Congress (APC) by January 2014.
A former House of Representatives member from Tafawa Balewa and Bogoro Federal Constituency in Bauchi State, Hon. Yakubu Dogara, who is one of the 37 PDP lawmakers who recently defected to the APC, said this Monday in Bauchi during the inauguration of the interim state executives of the APC.
Dogara who noted that their defection was not due to the internal crises they face in the ruling party but maladministration of the nation for 15 years, said more PDP National Assembly members from the state and other parts of the country had concluded plans to join APC in January 2014.
He disclosed that they, the lawmakers, had for long been disturbed by the mismanagement and poor performance of the PDP but could not move out due to lack of a viable opposition adding that the formation of the APC was good for Nigeria because it has progressive politicians whose missions are to transform the country.
The legislator therefore urged both the founding and decamping members of the APC in the country to shun previous differences and work spiritedly towards the victory of the party, saying saboteurs might be sponsored by the PDP to destabilise the opposition who are now seen as their greatest threat in 2015.
The interim state executives of the APC who were appointed by the harmonisation committee are Senator Muhammed A. Muhammed as Chairman; Dr Abdullahi Dabo as Secretary-General; Alhaji Tata Umar as Treasurer; Alhaji Ali Sa’idu as Organisation Secretary, just as Alhaji Bappha Tafida Misau was nominated as the Public Relations Officer (PRO).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.