Three Parties to Take Part in Kwara LG Polls

0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 20 Second
The Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASEIC) Thursday declared that only three political parties obtained nomination forms to participate in the the 26 local government areas elections  in the state.
The political parties are Labour Party (LP), Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
The chairman of the KWASEIC, Dr. Uthman Ajidagba, disclosed this in Ilorin on Wednesday at a press briefing held at the headquarters of the commission in Ilorin.
He said the affected political parties would take part in the remaining 15 local government councils election in the state.
The chairman added that "all other political parties, including All Progressives Congress (APC) did not indicate interest to contest for any position as they did not obtain any nomination form for any of the positions."
While stating that the. 2013 local government polls would hold as planned on October 26, Ajidagba said arrangements  had been concluded by the commission for a peaceful conduct of the polls.
He warned that all political campaign activities should end at 12 midnight on October 25.
The chairman explained that the commission would not condone any violation and that anybody found wanting would be sanctioned appropriately.
Ajidagba pointed out further that the necessary security arrangements had been put in place by the commission so as to allow voters come out en masse to cast their votes for their candidates.
He therefore appealed to all the people of the state to be law-abiding and ensure that they shun any act capable of affecting the smooth conduct of the polls.
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.