New Zealand Development Scholarships for Africans 2016-17

28012016c african american studentsPostgraduate Studies

Deadline: 30 Apr 2016  (annual)
Study in:  New Zealand
Next course starts 2016

Brief description:

The New Zealand Development Scholarships (NZDS) offers the opportunity for international students from selected developing countries to study in New Zealand to gain knowledge and skills through post-graduate study in specific subject areas that will assist in the development of their home country.

Host Institution(s):

Accredited academic institutions in New Zealand

Level and Field(s) of study:

Depending on the country you are from, New Zealand Development Scholarships are available for Postgraduate Certificate (6 months), Postgraduate Diploma (1 year) or Masters Degree (1 – 2 years) or PhD (up to 3.5 years).

Preferred subject areas are those that are relevant to the sustainable development needs of your country (i.e. renewable energy, agriculture development, disaster risk management, private sector development, public sector development).  Find out the preferred subjects for your country.

Target group:

The scholarships are open to citizens of:

African Commonwealth countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

Africa – non-Commonwealth countries: Algeria, Angola, Dijbouti, Ethiopia, Egypt, Gambia, Morocco, Senegal, Tunisia, Zimbabwe

Asia: Mongolia, Nepal, Timor-Leste

Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela.

Caribbean Commonnwealth countries: Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kittds and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago

Caribbean non-Commonnwealth countries: Dominican Republic, Haiti, Suriname

Scholarship value/inclusions:

The scholarships include the full cost of tuition, fortnightly living allowance, an establishment allowance, medical and travel insurance, travel to and from your home country at the start and end of your scholarship, home leave or reunion travel for some students, and assistance with research and thesis costs for most postgraduate research students.


Applicants must meet the following conditions to be eligible for a New Zealand Scholarship:

• Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.

• Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.

• Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.

For full eligibility details check the eligibility criteria page.

Application instructions:

In 2016, New Zealand Development Scholarships applications can be made online from 1 February 2016.  Online applications close on 30 April 2016. Some countries accept paper applications and the deadline is 15 April 2016.

It is important to visit the country-specific pages and the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship and to access the application forms.


Official Scholarship Website:  https://www.mfat.govt.nz/en/aid-and-development/scholarships/types-of-scholarships

Related Scholarships: List of New Zealand Scholarships

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.