Lagos Assembly speaker announces c’ttee chairs

0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 51 Second

LAGOS— THE All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday got 28 slots with juicy committees and People’s Democracy Party, PDP, three as the Speaker of the Lagos Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, announced the names of the constituted committees and their chairmen.

While the returning members got 17 positions, the new lawmakers got 14 chairmanship positions, as 29 male lawmakers and two female lawmakers were announced as committee chairmen.

Accordingly, the Speaker is to head the Selection Committee while Business Rules and Standing Orders will be chaired by Majority Leader, Sanai Agunbiade, as well as Ethics, Protocols and Privileges by the Chief Whip, Rotimi Abiru.

Also, House Service will be headed by Rasheed Makinde, Public Accounts (State) to be  chaired by Moshood Oshun, Public Accounts (Local) by Bisi Yusuff, Agriculture committee by Kazeem Raheem as well as Economic Planning and Budget by Rotimi Olowo

Others are Education committee to be chaired by Lanre Ogunyemi as Science and Technology will be chaired by Nurudeen Solaja and Establishment, Training and Pension by Adedayo Famakinwa

Others are: Energy and Mineral Resources (Folajimi Mohammed), Waterfront Infrastructure Development (Gbolahan Yishawu), Physical Planning and Urban Development (Setonji David).

Transportation to be chaired by Fatai Mojeed, Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives (Oladele Adekanye), Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation (Moji Lawal), Works and Infrastructure (Tobun Abiodun).

Wealth Creation and Employment (Sola Giwa), Finance (Yinka Ogundimu), Health  (Segun Olulade), Home Affairs (Olayiwola Olawale), Tourism, Arts and Culture (Desmond Olusola Elliot).

Youths and Social Development by Kasunmu Adedamola, Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petitions, LASIEC to be chaired by Adefunmilayo Tejuosho while Lands committee was given to Bayo Oshinowo and Housing by Ibrahim Layode.

Information and Strategy by Tunde Buraimoh, Central Business District by Victor Akande, Special Duties and Inter-governmental Relations to be chaired by Sokunle Hakeem, Local Government and Community Affair by Kazeem Alimi

Tejuosho rejects Judiciary c’ttee headship

But, a mini drama came up after the a former Deputy Speaker, Adefunmilayo Tejuosho, rejected the chairmanship of a committee given her.

However, as the speaker made attempt to rise, Tejuosho quickly took to the microphone saying: “Mr. Speaker, before you rise, I need to let you know this; I want to turn down that Committee on Judiciary.”

0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.