Immigration tragedy: EFCC summons ex-minister again

22102015C abba moro12The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has again summoned the former Minister of Interior, Mr. Abba Moro, over the ongoing investigation into Nigeria Immigration Service’s recruitment disaster on May 2014 that claimed lives of 19 applicants.

According to Vanguard, an inside source spilled that a team of investigators in charge of the case have directed Moro to report at the commission’s headquarters today, Thursday, October 22, as his Tuesday interrogation was inconclusive.

The source said: “The ex-minister was given an administrative bail on Tuesday but was asked to return on Thursday for a continuation of the process. It is obvious that they were not through with him.

“He was released in the evening on Tuesday on administrative bail. He is expected to report to the commission for a continuation of the interrogation on Thursday.”

The EFCC had interrogated a former Comptroller General of Immigration, Mr. David Paradang, on September 15, 2015, after investigation was reopened into the NIS recruitment tragedy.

Paradang’s interrogation centred on the conduct of the unsuccessful recruitment and how N600m extorted from the applicants in 2014 was spent.

The questioning revealed that top officials of the Ministry of Interior and the Civil Defence, Fire, Prison Services Boards, who interviewed the applicants only declared N45m as the money collected from the applicants.

It was gathered that the anti-graft agency may invite some of the members of the board after Moro’s sessions, to uncover the whereabouts of the remaining N555m.

The members of the board are S.D. Tapgun (CDFIPB); JaeI Kpatuvvak, Deputy Director (A&P), CDFIPB; Okhamera A. I., Asst. Director (Admin), CDFIPB; Bello Torankawa, Asst. Director (A&P), CDFIPB; Hamid Abdul-Lamid, Asst. Director (IMM), CDFIPB; Aduku, M. M., Asst. Director (D&GP), CDFIPB; and Oyedeji, T.V., CIS (APU), NIS.

Others are Abubakar A. A., Interior ministry; Chukwu O. C., Rep. Asst. Director (F&A), CDFIPB; I. M. Makama, L. A, CDFIPB; Nasiru Yusuf, ICT Unit, CDFIPB; . Shehu Mohammed, Deputy Director (D. &GP), CDFIPB; Mukah O. S., Chief Admin. Officer (FFS); Theodore Maiyaki, Drexei Tech.; William Butau, Drexel Tech; and Abioye Bankole, Drexei Tech.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.